Take the Waltz (2011)

Staring: Michelle Williams, Seth Rogen, Luke Kirby

This is a movie about the end of love.Take This Waltz

I really liked it and I’m moved. Trying to put my thoughts together to say how it makes me feel.

The characters revolve around each other, examine what happened to them and look at the feelings that grew between them, as if it was something independent of their will and desire.

I know this feeling so well. When you want to leave but you feel you ought to stay. When you know that you are unhappy but you don’t want to hurt the other person.

I liked what one of the reviews said:

At the beginning of this love – new and shiny – clearly reflects the end of another. Therefore, the moment of falling in love that should be ecstatic, is a moment of disappointment. With love, but also with each other and life. You can sort things out so that they live in harmony with each other, but it does not guarantee freedom from suffering and abuse. There is no absolute happiness and objectively good choices. Beautiful turns into ugly, the new converts into the old…

It also made me think that you take yourself into every relationship. At the beginning you might feel, act different but after a while you just come back to yourself. It made me think that nobody can make you happy if you carry your unhappiness inside.

I loved the last scene. It’s just so full of meaning and comforting really.

Some quotes from the movie:

Sometimes I’m… walking along the street and a shaft of sunlight falls in a certain way across the pavement and I just wanna cry. And then a second later, it’s over. I decide because I’m an adult, to not succumb to the momentary melancholy;

I’ve been thinking about that airport fear of yours, of being in between things. I think I kinda hate it too. I know it’s kind of the nature of being alive, but I’d like to avoid it wherever possible. I don’t think I wanna be in between things

Leave a comment