Gainsbourg (Vie héroïque)

Directed by Joann Sfar
Staring: Eric Elmosnino, Lucy Gordon, Laetitia Casta, Anna Mouglalis, Kacey Mottet Klein

Where to begin…

For those who don’t know Serge Gainsbourg (real name Lucien) was a French singer, songwriter, poet, composer, artist, actor and director. And he also was Jewish what may matter at least for some critics and the beginning of the movie which takes place during Nazi occupaction of France. The film is a semi biography, rather a personal statement of the director than historical facts put together. Which makes it so good in my opinion. Much more interesting than movie about Coco Chanel, Margaret Thatcher or even Edith Piaf.

It’s a drama film written and directed by Joann Sfar, based on his graphic novel. And you can clearly see the influence of author comic style in the movie. To be honest it reminds me a bit of “Maus”, a graphic novel by American cartoonist Art Spiegelman, I read it a couple years back. But if you can’t see the connection I won’t blame you, this is just the way my brain works.

In a pre-credit sequence the young child Serge (born Lucien) is rejected as “too ugly” by a little girl on a summer beach. I was just talking about this with my friend on Tuesday, how being ugly or fat influences the lives of people and how others judge them. Nothing that wasn’t said before, but I do tend to like not obviously beautiful people more. Yes this might be a discrimination towards beutiful people, but well World is not black & white.

I’m tempted to describe all my favourite moments in the movie but I let you watch it for yourselves. Let me just say I loved when my Mum, Dad and me were laying the LEGO bricks in the middle of the night creating houses or pirat’s islands…

At the end of the movie we are left with the final words from the director “I prefer his lies to his truth,” his dreams to his reality.

Le Gueule is bornedIt’s a full of imagination tale with intriguing figure of Gainsbourg caricature (La Gueule) being a cartoon and his demon at the same time. Love him or hate him. I love him.

Beautiful pictures, women, great music, including the very famous song “Je T’aime,…Moi Non Plus “.

At the end I just want to say I love men in well-tailored suits.Le Gueule

I’ve chosen the least reaviling trailer for you. P.S. You might also want to visit a review in The Guardian by Philip French but you may want to do it after seeing the movie first.

Leave a Reply

