J. Edgar 2011

I remember how much I wanted to see the movie about Margaret Tacher. Years ago when I “believed” in capitalism I used to admire her a lot. When the movie came out the reviews stated the movie was not about her greatest achievements but about getting old, about an old lady with a past, whose past is less important then her old age. I started to watch the movie but never finished it. I think I will try it once again.

In a meanwhile I’ve seen recently J. Edgar, movie directed by Clint Eastwood, starring Leonardo Di Caprio, Judi Dench, Naomi Watts and Armi Hammer. Biopic of J. Edgar Hoover told by Hoover as he recalls his career for a biography.

I don’t think the movie is that deep. Prevailing feeling that I have after watching it is sadness. For me it’s an empty life with self denial and enormous pressure. Not mentioning the American paranoia of invigilation. No one to be trusted, all to be spied on. Funny I didn’t even know that policemen could not carry a gun before.

In a book I was reading recently I came across a passage:

I’m interested in a question: if we have not taught our children the word war, whether there would be peace? If we did not push military toys in their hands  and console games involving killing, would they be more sensitive to pain?

Looking at myself I think there might be a point to it. Since I stopped watching movies with violence I seem to be more sensitive to it when I come across it. It’s sometimes funny to people I watch the movies with that I cover my eyes and cover my ears. I’m shutting it down cos it hurts. One thing is to shut yourself from real world pain and abuse another watch it as a form of entertainment.

Leave a Reply

