The Bridges of Madison County

Just saw it again yesterday. I could remember I really liked it years ago but besides overview of the plot I could not say more about it. As you might know it’s about love and it’s place in life. A photographer stops by on a farm to ask for directions and this is how it all begins…

The romance is to last only 4 days but from the beginning you can see the woman is expecting something more. She treats him like a chance to escape the banality of everyday life. But I also think she is surprised to find a part of her self that was long burried and neglected. Erotic fascination turns into a deep feeling. She falls in love, but is afraid that for him it is only episodic affair, which he probably had many in his wandering life. As this is not the case she is confronted with a difficult choice between her life and family and her love.

“The Bridges of Madison County” is a film very cost-effective, based on interviews with a pair of protagonists, played by Eastwood and Meryl Streep with extraordinary sensitivity. The actor creations give the whole an exeptional atmosphere.

The scenes/quotes I really liked and would like to remember:

I had thoughts about him I hardly knew what to do with, and he read every one. Whatever I wanted, he gave himself up to, and in that moment, everything I knew to be true about myself up until then was gone. I was acting like another woman, yet I was more myself than ever before.

This kind of certainty comes but once in a lifetime.

I was just going to have some iced tea and split the atom, but that can wait.

You don’t understand, no-one does. When a woman makes the choice to marry, to have children; in one way her life begins but in another way it stops. You build a life of details. You become a mother, a wife and you stop and stay steady so that your children can move. And when they leave they take your life of details with them. And then you’re expected move again only you don’t remember what moves you because no-one has asked in so long. Not even yourself. You never in your life think that love like this can happen to you.

My Lord, it must feel real nice living inside yourhead with Peter Pan and the Easter Bunny.

Even the water left in the shower. Everything about him i was beginning to find erotic.

And then this scene when Meryl and her husband are old and she lies next to him on the bed and he says “Franny, I just want to say I know you have your own dreams, I’m sorry I couldn’t give them to you. I love you so very much.” Now what does this change? Does it change anything for her or just makes him feel better, kind of justified? What do you think?

One comment

Leave a Reply

