On your marks, get, set, ready, go! – Mushrooming in Poland

One of the most amazing customs in Poland is mushrooming. You get up really early and set off to a wood, forest or other wilderness. Our choice for years now is backwoods called “Blota” (Muds in translation). It’s located near Sierakow in Greater Poland.

Map of Sierakow

Map of Puszcza Notceka - wilderness

Necessary equipment:

ready for mashrooming

Team ready to conquer the forest

  1. Patience
  2. Good shoes (water resistant)
  3. Basket
  4. Sharp knife
  5. Second breakfast (tea recommended)
  6. Knowledge of mushrooms (which are poisonous which aren’t, we are not talking magic mushrooms here)
  7. Compass, just in case (although we never have one and got lost maybe two times in my whole life, anyway I don’t want to think you get lost because I said you don’t need to take a compass)
Matecznik Blota - Blota backwoods

Hostel we slept in

So we got up early and drove 2 hours to our favorite spot. A place we found when I was in elementary school and still went on summer camps. This one was tilted “Bike and horse riding camp”. We stayed for 10 or 14 days in backwood Blota and spend time horse riding and cycling. I think we had some English lessons as well. It was so long ago that I only have some snap shots in my memory. I remember mice running on the floor, how we crept out one early morning to collect some mushrooms and saw one of the most amazing sun rises with rays of light sparking in the drops of drew all around us. I don’t even think anyone noticed we were gone. This summer camp has been one of my favorites. Not sure if they do such camps anymore.

Our parents came to visit and liked this place so much that every autumn we went back there for

Penny bun

Penny bun, quite small just fit for vinegar as my grandpa used to say

mushrooming. Woodmen have changed but we remained faithful. From stories told by my parents I can tell you that sometimes there is so much mushrooms that you stay on your knees all the time, there is just no point to stand back up (unless you feel like doing extensive workout). I personally like just the right amount of mushrooms, when you are satisfied but still have time to enjoy the forest. Smell is amazing, you can feel the aroma of the moist soil, moss, maple and pines. Greenery gives your eyes well deserved rest after hours of sitting in front of the computer screen. And you do a lot of walking without even noticing it, as there is a point to it and a prize – mushroom.

Ok let’s get down to mushrooms, the most popular kinds that I know and collect are:

MushroomPenny bun, porcino or cep –  held in high regard in many cuisines, and is commonly prepared and eaten in soups, pasta, or risotto. We mostly dry it and add to dumplings (polish traditional dumplings for Christmas have filling made of sour cabbage and mushrooms) and bigos (Hunter’s Stew);

Xerocomus, Boletus – used by us for the same purposes;

Suillus – you can recognise it easily as it’s cap cuticle is slimy and sticky when moist, most commonly found near young coniferous trees;

To be honest with you the mushrooms that are poisonous can also be really beautiful. Golden cascades  streaming down the tree trunks, snow white polka dots of Amanita or incredibly symmetrical stripes underneath the cap take your breath away.

amanitus

Amanitus - toxic mushroom

This year we weren’t very lucky. Our first spot was mushroom-less and I was more concerned about spiders than anything else. It seemed they were everywhere. I have a way of passing between two trees that seem ideal to accommodate spider’s web. I take a long stick and wave it in front of me . Hahhaaa now when I think about it, someone might think I’m chanting the mushrooms. We came back with just enough for supper and Christmas dishes for one family.

Now a bit about drying the mushrooms. The string method – slice up the mushrooms

Toxic mushrooms

Toxic mushrooms

thinly, and use a needle and cotton to string all of the mushrooms together. Use real cotton rather than an artificial material as this is less likely to stick or melt during drying. Once you have the mushrooms threaded string them up in the airing cupboard, in the kitchen, or in any similar warm location. This year only one string survived as most of the slices just fell off the string. If it happens to you, you can use The tray method. Use ordinary baking trays lined with some newspaper.

Toxic mushroom

Toxic mushroom

Arrange your slices of mushroom around the tray, making sure that they’re not overlapping each other, and discarding any slices that are maggoty. The thing with this method (especially if you put the tray in the oven to shorten drying time) is that the newspaper can stick to the mushrooms and then you will have bothersome process of removing paper in front of you (before cooking). You know you have to soak them in water anyway but not always the newspaper comes off easily. The Skewer sticks method. Our new invention! Instead of stringing the mushrooms together you make mushroom skewers and stick them in styrofoam box. And it works!

Did I mention you need to clean the mushroom first, remove any snails, pine needles

Cleaning mushrooms

Cleaning mushrooms

or dirt? Check if they are not maggoty and only then dry them! You do not dry the Suillus. We eat them the same day fried with onion and cream. Yummy! (well I started to eat mushrooms when I was 18 so if you disagree I can understand) A lot of work and a lot of leftovers. I throw them into my garden in hope they will make a better start for mushrooms but this is useless. On the right you can see my share of last year crop. Check out the bowl as well! All of them now sorted and cleaned, some more on the table still before processing.

Now I hope you will go yourself and try mushrooming! I ensure you, even if you are too scared to eat them it’s still a lot of fun!

How to marinate mushrooms in vinegar (we don’t use wine just alcohol)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 comments

  1. My Poznan friends took me mushrooming in a forest quite near them, but I was terrible at remembering to look down — I really went for the walk in the woods.

    When I lived in Seattle, I went mushrooming in the Cascades. Lovely. Not exactly the same mushrooms, but plenty of good ones. We made a pate for with them. It had ground pork in with the mushrooms, but no liver … I think?

    I’m living nowhere near mushrooms or Polish friends at the moment, so this was a wonderful reminder of them– thanks!

Leave a Reply

