Take it sloooowwww… – Slow Movement in Travel

Let’s make a move and slow our life down. It sounds great, it’s just that I’m not patient enough. And it’s not even that I can’t do things longer that 5 mins at a time, I just really want to see the results right now. Be rich – right now, get a promotion – right now, do puzzles – finish in one go. Delayed gratification doesn’t go well with me (it does mean my emotional IQ is low).

I got tired of fast travel, constantly on the way day or night.

Marocco – we landed on Saturday and went back on Wednesday the following week 4 nights, one spent on the way to Zagora, second on the desert, third in Ouarzazate and 4th in Marrakesh, back to Agadir the next day.

Two weeks in Asia, landed in Bangkok, one night there, train to the Cambodian border, then bus, night in Siem Reap, Angkor, night in Siem Reap, bus to Ho Chi Minh City, two nights there, night bus to Nha Trang, night there, night bus to Hoi An, two nights there, train to Hue… and so on

I want to change the way I travel to feel I don’t only know the places I’ve seen skin deep and  not to feel tired and empty after the holiday is over. There are two components to Slow Travel:

  • Spend at least one week in one place on your trip.
  • See what is near you: Use the “Concentric Circles” theory for day trips. Think of your touring area as a series of concentric circles around your base. See what is close to you instead of dashing about on long day trips to see the “must-sees”.

When I think about the reasons for my hectic pace first that comes to mind “there are so many places to see and so little time and money, let’s make a use that I’m here and see as much as possible”. It’s just being greedy. Wanting more and more all the time. It reminds me now when I think of it of compulsive eating, you just keep putting more and more food faster and faster without even feeling the taste of it.

I could draw a very convincing and beautiful picture of drinking your coffee in nice little restaurant every day the same one, becoming familiar with people selling local food on the market just around the corner from where you live. Discovering little discrepancies of everyday life around you and thinking “there I’m one of them now”. I’m not going to do it though… wait a second I already kind of did. But anyway until you really try it, you won’t be able to say if you like it. Not every where is the same: Italy & France, sounds really appealing to me but Sweden… not so much anymore, I guess I kind of think you need 10 years for people around you to become friendly hahahaa it’s just a superstition. Did you have different experiences?

The point I’m trying to make you really need to get tired of “fast”, maybe notice it’s no longer fun but more like an achievement, goal, a thick on your list just for the list sake. Anyway I recommend you do try slow travel outside of 5 star hotel & outside of big, anonymous city. Enjoy!

I’m planing a trip to Positano, at least four nights there. Challenging! But let’s just make one step at a time! :)

6 comments

  1. I completely agree with you that slow travel makes you feel you know a place in ways much more than skin deep. However, I have found it is possible in even large cities. I once spent three weeks in Paris and didn’t see everything because I was walking the city one neighborhood at a time. Sweden (Uppsala and Stockholm), Ireland (Galway and Trim), and Suttgart were wonderful — and they, too, were each a slow travel trip.

    My favorite place to stay in Poland is Poznan because I have close friends there. I am lucky enough that they have taken me to see several beautiful places, but the city I wish to see again is Krakow. It was both young and old in wonderful combinations.

    I hope being Freshly Pressed brought you loads of happy readers.

    1. It surely did. I was very surprised to find my post Freshly Pressed :) I come from Poznan, Poland :) and I used to live in Galway for 3 years. As you can imagine I got to know them really well. Maybe you are right that slow travel is possible even in big cities. I’m currently living in London for over 2,5 years and I don’t find I know the city well. Maybe I should just try harder :)

  2. Sometimes taking it slowly provides the greatest views. I was visiting Death Valley once and while I certainly did my share of hikes and drives to explore the valley and surrounds, the most memorable day came from just sitting and letting the landscape unfold. Same was true at the Grand Canyon. May your forays into slow travel be most fruitful.

Leave a Reply

